Ja 55 Pañcāvudhajātaka
The Story about (Prince) Pañcāvudha

In the present a monk gives up the struggle easily. The Buddha tells him a story about a past life in which he refused to give up the fight even though ensnared by a Yakkha and threatened with death. The Yakkha, recognising his courage, lets him go.

−⏑−−¦⏑−−−¦⏑−⏑⏑¦⏑−⏑− Siloka pathyā
1. Yo alīnena cittena, alīnamanaso naro,
That person who has an alert heart, who is alert in his mind,

−−⏑⏑¦⏑−−−¦¦−−−−¦⏑−⏑− Siloka pathyā
Bhāveti kusalaṁ dhammaṁ, yogakkhemassa pattiyā,
Who cultivates wholesome thoughts, in order to attain safety,

−⏑−⏑¦⏑−−−¦¦−⏑−−¦⏑−⏑− Siloka pathyā
Pāpuṇe anupubbena sabbasaṁyojanakkhayan-ti.
Gradually arrives at the destruction of all of the fetters.

Tatrāyaṁ, {1.275} piṇḍattho:
In this connection, this is the substance of it:

yo puriso alīnena asaṁkuṭitena cittena,
that person who has an alert, unshrunken, heart,

pakatiyā pi alīnamano alīnajjhāsayo va hutvā, anavajjaṭṭhena,
naturally having an alert mind, an alert disposition, being blameless,

kusalaṁ sattatiṁsabodhipakkhiyabhedaṁ dhammaṁ bhāveti vaḍḍheti,
cultivates, develops, the wholesome thirty-seven things on the side of Awakening, The four ways of attending to mindfulness, the four right endeavours, the four bases of spiritual power, the five faculties, the five strengths, the seven factors of awakening, the noble eightfold path, making thirty-seven in all.

visālena cittena vipassanaṁ anuyuñjati,
with an extensive heart devoted to insight,

catūhi yogehi khemassa, Nibbānassa pattiyā.
for safety from the four yokes, The yokes of sense desire, craving for existence, wrong views and ignorance. These are the same as the āsava, the pollutants. in order to attain Nibbāna.

So evaṁ sabbasaṅkhāresu: “Aniccaṁ dukkhaṁ anattā” ti,
Thinking about all the processes: “(This is) impermanent, suffering, non-self,”

tilakkhaṇaṁ āropetvā, taruṇavipassanato paṭṭhāya,
after taking up the three marks, Impermanence, suffering, and non-self. beginning from immature insight,

uppanne Bodhipakkhiyadhamme bhāvento,
and developing the things arising on the side of Awakening,

anupubbena ekasaṁyojanam-pi anavasesetvā,
gradually, without one fetter remaining,

sabbasaṁyojanakkhayakarassa catutthamaggassa,
he makes a destruction of all the fetters The fetters are ten: personality view; doubt; clinging to virtue and vows; lust for sensuality; ill-will; lust for form worlds; lust for formless worlds; conceit; restlessness; ignorance. with the four paths,

pariyosāne uppannattā: “Sabbasaṁyojanakkhayo” ti, saṅkhaṁ gataṁ, Cst reads: saṅkhyaṁ gataṁ, which doesn’t make sense. PTS as here.
until at the end the fact arises, and: “The destruction of all of the fetters,” is reckoned,

Arahattaṁ pāpuṇeyyā ti.
and he would attain Arahatta.